clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pre-Season Predictions: End of Season Awards

Troy Taormina-US PRESSWIRE - Presswire


Previous Sac-Era Winners: None. The closest anyone has ever gotten is 4th place, with Chris Webber in 2000-01 and Peja Stojakovic in 2003-04.

Despite it's kind of vague interpretation of Most "Valuable" Player, this award almost always goes to the best player on one of the best teams in the league. The Kings do not have that player on the team currently. DeMarcus Cousins, in time, could eventually be a contender.

All-NBA Team

Previous Sac-Era Winners:

  • 1st Team: Chris Webber (2000-01)
  • 2nd Team: Mitch Richmond (1993-94, 1994-95, 1996-97), Chris Webber (1998-99, 2001-02, 2002-03), Peja Stojakovic (2003-04)
  • 3rd Team: Mitch Richmond (1995-96, 1997-98), Chris Webber (1999-00)

Rookie of the Year

Previous Sac-Era Winners: Tyreke Evans (2009-10)

Thomas Robinson would have to have an amazing year to win Rookie of the Year. My current favorites for the award are Anthony Davis and Damian Lillard. Davis has a huge development leg up on every other rookie by playing with Team USA, not to mention the fact that he's incredibly good already. Damian Lillard is a scoring dynamo who will be handed the reins in Portland. Robinson may or may not start for the Kings, and even if he starts, so many other players on the team need the ball that it would take a truly extraordinary effort for him to win the award.

All-Rookie Team

Previous Sac-Era Winners:

  • 1st Team: Lionel Simmons (1990-91), Jason Williams (1998-99), Hedo Turkoglu (2000-01), Tyreke Evans (2009-10), DeMarcus Cousins (2010-11)
  • 2nd Team: Travis Mays (1990-91), Walt Williams (1992-93), Tyus Edney (1995-96), Isaiah Thomas (2011-12)

Now while it's unlikely that Thomas Robinson wins Rookie of the Year, I do see him making one of the All-Rookie Teams. If he starts the majority of the year, I could easily see a First Team vote. Robinson is an incredible rebounder already, and he will be able to find plenty of opportunities for easy baskets without the defense focusing entirely on him like at Kansas.

Defensive Player of the Year

Previous Sac-Era Winners: None. Closest was Doug Christie in 2000-01, who finished 4th.

The Kings don't currently have an All-World defender on the team, or even a superb one. The closest they have is probably Chuck Hayes or James Johnson. Hayes is a proven post defender and looks to be in good shape heading into this year. Johnson is one of the best shot blocking and stealing wings in the league, but hasn't shown consistency.

All-Defensive Team

Previous Sac-Era Winners:

  • 1st Team: Doug Christie (2002-03)
  • 2nd Team: Doug Christie (2000-01, 2001-02, 2003-04)

See Defensive Player of the Year.

Sixth Man of the Year

Previous Sac-Era Winners: Bobby Jackson (2002-03)

Now here's an area where the Kings could have a real chance. Marcus Thornton has the potential to be one of the best sixth men in the league. However, the team needs to show a big improvement for him to win the award. If Jamal Crawford can win the award, so can Marcus Thornton. Aaron Brooks is also an excellent potential candidate.

Coach of the Year

Previous Sac-Era Winners: None, although we've had a few Anti-Coaches of the Year. Also, Rick Adelman should have won one or five.

If the Kings are anywhere near the Playoff Conversation, Keith Smart definitely deserves Coach of the Year consideration, just like Tyrone Corbin and the Jazz last year. He hasn't been given the best roster, so the better it performs, the more credit he deserves.

Executive of the Year

Previous Sac-Era Winners: Geoff Petrie (1998-99 & 2000-01)

Unless Aaron Brooks wins SMoY, James Johnson wins DPoY and Thomas Robinson wins RoY, I don't see Petrie winning his 3rd Executive of the Year award. That award usually goes to the Exec who has transformed their team from bad to good.

Most Improved Player

Previous Sac-Era Winners: The Kings have had a few 2nd place finishes, but no winner of this award. Those 2nd place finishers were Corliss Williamson (1997-98), Peja Stojakovic (2000-01) and Kevin Martin (2006-07).

The Kings have a good history of getting screwed out of this kind of meaningless award. Almost anyone on the team could win the award. Jimmer, Hayes, Outlaw, Tyreke, Johnson, Isaiah (if voters make the Most Improved award simply the More Minutes Played award), even Aaron Brooks again.