clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Despite no winners, the Kings received some notable votes for the NBA Awards

We were robbed!

2019 NBA Awards Presented By Kia On TNT - Red Carpet Photo by Joe Scarnici/Getty Images for Turner Sports

The Sacramento Kings didn’t take home any hardware at last night’s NBA Awards show, but the Kings did receive votes across multiple categories. You can view the full list of winners and voting results on

De’Aaron Fox came into the night as a notable candidate and underdog to win Most Improved Player. The award went, as many guessed, to Pascal Siakam of the Toronto Raptors. Fox finished third, behind D’Angelo Russell. Buddy Hield finished 4th in the voting. Willie Cauley-Stein received a third place vote as well.

Luka Doncic took home Rookie of the Year honors, as was expected. Marvin Bagley III finished 7th in voting, surely due to some untimely injuries and Dave Joerger’s stubbornness in bringing Bagley off the bench all year. Harry Giles received no votes, proving there is no justice in this world.

Giannis Antetokounmpo won MVP over James Harden. Marvin Bagley received no MVP votes. These awards are all political.

Mike Budenoholzer won the award for Coach of the Year. Dave Joerger received a first place vote, putting him ahead of Gregg Popovich, Nick Nurse, Quin Snyder, and Steve Clifford in the voting. Sure.

Jon Horst of the Milwaukee Bucks won Executive of the Year, with Vlade Divac receiving one third place vote.

Harrison Barnes placed sixth in the player-voted NBA Sportsmanship Award.